More Than Just a Grandfather

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1UtvxYSqwTxP-zd8n8BNmqizNT0qHrw8WuNQhMWaF190/edit

I chose to write about this topic because as you can probably tell in my memoir, my Dyeda is one of the most important people in my life. All my hard work on my memoir was very beneficial when I read it to my grandfather because he couldn’t stop smiling. He even kept telling me how he didn’t deserve it, I told him he deserves more than just this. 

My grandfather has made the most enormous changes to myself as a person because there are many differences between him and I, so he has so much to teach me. He has also made me a much more grateful person because from his past experiences he had to cherish everything, and since I am a pretty lucky girl it is easy for me to get greedy but he keeps in my place! 

So the lesson a reader can learn from my memoir is to never take the most important people in your life for granted. Also how important it is to have someone to lean on while going through tough times. If you have that person that is there with you during the hardest times, I promise they will be a part of your life forever.

 

 

2 thoughts on “More Than Just a Grandfather

  1. ebvoice

    Wow, I think that’s such a good message. There are people in all of our lives who need to help us through the tough times. I think it’s great you found yours & I hope that others will find and realize how important they will make their lives.

  2. melissathompson

    Dear Joey,

    Shocker….I’m bawling! If I’m crying from your memoir, I can only imagine how touched your dyeda was when you read it to him. It is such a gift to feel lucky and fortunate during the hard times; not everyone can do that. Clearly, you are a special person too, and I’m sure your dyeda feels just as lucky to have strengthened your relationship. The image of you shoving french fries into your mouths definitely made me smile!

    Thank you for being so open and honest in your memoir. You’re definitely lucky to have found your person, and I have no doubt that you will be that person for many people throughout your life.

    Mrs. Thompson

Leave a Reply